Five Different Types of Tea You Should Know


Five Different Types Of Tea You Should Know


There are hundreds of species of camellia plants, grown in gardens all over the world for their beautiful flowers and dark green glossy foliage. Only one species of camellia is used to make tea, however, and that is Camellia sinensis. All types of teas—white, green, oolong, and black—are made from this plant.

The tea plant is native to the high mountain ranges of the Yunnan province in southern China; sinensis means “from China.”

There are major two varieties of Camellia Sinensis plant: Sinensis and Assamica. The Camellia sinensis plant is best suited to the growing conditions in China and Japan.

Assamica is grown predominantly in India, Africa, and Sri Lanka. hundreds of hybrids and cultivars of these two varieties have been developed over the years.


How Each Tea Type Differ From Another

How Each Tea Type Differs From Another

As we have already known all these five different types of tea come from the same bush. Their health benefits are more or less the same because all tea comes from one plant.

Due to different processing techniques, there are slight differences in the health benefits of each type, which also makes them taste different, so you may choose one type over the other according to personal preference.

One significant difference between types of tea is the amount of caffeine each contains. This is the result of different processing techniques, chiefly the length of time the tea leaves are allowed to ferment before drying.

This fermentation process, known as oxidation, occurs after the leaves are left to dry on racks. Then they are twisted and rolled to break up the leaf cells and release the essential oils, which remain on the leaves.


Five Types of Tea

Following are short descriptions of the five types of tea along with some of their health benefits.


1) White Tea


White teas are produced on a very limited scale. To harvest white tea, the buds are picked before they open, along with the youngest leaves. This careful harvest is allowed to dry up very slightly and then is dried using hot air to prevent oxidation. This process creates a smooth-tasting, pale yellow clear liquor that emits a delicate grassy aroma.

According to a study, white tea, along with the other types of tea, is thought to stimulate the nerve cells of the brain and reduce occurrences of cancers of the stomach, colon, rectum, bladder, and prostate by attacking free radicals that can accumulate in the tissues.


2) Puerh Tea


Puerh tea is a type of green tea. Puerh teas are produced in very limited quantities and only in China. The quantities are so limited that this tea is difficult to obtain in the Uk.

Because this tea oxidizes more slowly than green teas, the damp leaves turn yellow. The leaves are hand-rolled in cowhide while still damp and then air-dried for a day or more.

The health benefits are the same as for white or green teas, but the aroma is flowery and the taste subtle and sweet, without the grassiness associated with most green teas. Puerh tea can be drunk to prevent and mitigate swelling and inflammation.


3) Green Tea

Green Tea Image

Green tea begins its journey to the cup by plucking the top two leaves and unopened leaf buds, the most tender and desirable parts of the tea bush.

Harvesting can be accomplished by machine, but truly outstanding green teas are hand-plucked. The leaves are steamed or pan-fired to wither them slightly. Then they are quickly rolled or shaken either by hand or machine to release essential oils and then dried to prevent as much oxidation as possible.

This process endows the leaves with a subtle aroma and light grassy taste, signature characteristics of many green teas.

All types of tea facilitate weight loss, but green tea is thought to be especially good at helping a person shed extra pounds. This is because as with all five types of tea, green tea increases fat oxidation by thermogenesis (heat production ) in the human body. It also lowers LDL cholesterol levels, which makes it a good choice for diabetics.


4) Oolong Tea


Oolongs are mainly made in China and Taiwan. They come in a variety of flavors, aromas, and colors. Unlike green and white teas, oolong teas can be infused several times.

The term oolong is a variation of a word in Chinese that means “black dragon.” This type of tea originated in the Fujian province of China.

Oolong teas are partially oxidized teas. To create an oolong, leaves are withered and gently shaken to bruise the edges, then semi-oxidized rolled, and dried. The process results in a tea that displays a wide range of flavors.

The antioxidants in oolong tea, as well as in other types, fight infectious diseases and detoxifies the liver.


5) Black Tea


Black tea is probably the type most familiar. The tea leaves are withered and either rolled or cut. The key difference between black teas and all other kinds is that the leaves are fully oxidized before being dried or fired.

When it comes to nutrition, robust black tea is associated with good health and energy. This is because it contains more caffeine than other types of tea. It is also the reason black teas tend to be more flavorful than other types.

Black tea as well as the other types of tea may decrease LDL cholesterol levels, increase the ability of blood vessels to respond to stress, and thus reduce the risk for hardening of the arteries, heart attack, and stroke.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Select your currency
GBP Pound sterling
EUR Euro